Each year, The Allegheny Review awards prizes to outstanding undergraduate poets and prose writers. By recognizing talented, young writers nationwide, we hope to help cultivate the creativity of tomorrow’s prominent authors. Our editors select all the texts for publication in the magazine, then forward those chosen texts on to our final judges, who read the work anonymously and choose winners in poetry and prose.

Both winners will receive a $250 prize as well as publication in our national undergraduate magazine, The Allegheny Review.

Past judges have included: Richard Howard,
Marilyn Chin,
Mark Doty,
Christopher Tilghman,
Aliki Barnstone,
Paul Lisicky,
Christopher Castellani,
Alan Michael Parker,
Jane McCafferty,
Christina Milletti, Andrew Hudgins, Scott Russell Sanders, and most recently Richard Blanco and Benjamin Busch.

Judges for the 2015 awards are Eduardo C. Corral and Harrison Candelaria Fletcher:

Poetry: Eduardo C. Corral


Eduardo C. Corral is the author of Slow Lightning, which was selected by Carl Phillips as the 2011 winner of the Yale Series of Younger Poets competition. He has been the recipient of a Whiting Writers’ Award and a National Endowment of the Arts Fellowship, and his work has been honored with a “Discover” The Nation Award and residencies at Yaddo and the MacDowell Colony. He holds degrees from Arizona State University and the Iowa Writers’ Workshop.

Prose: Harrison Candelaria Fletcher


Harrison Candelaria Fletcher is the author of Decanso for My Father: Fragments of a Life, winner of a Colorado Book Award, Independent Book Publisher Award Bronze Medal and International Book Award for Best New Nonfiction. He teaches in the Virginia Commonwealth University M.F.A. Program.

Enter your submission for the awards here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s